P.S. 011 Purvis J. Behan (13K011) is a public school in District 13, Clinton Hill, Brooklyn, serving grades pre-K, K–6. In 2025, 96% of tested students were proficient in ELA and 97% were proficient in math (NYC DOE). Enrollment was 922 students in 2024–25 (NYC DOE). The average K–5 class size was 28.9 students in 2025–26 (NYC DOE).
2025 ELA proficiency is 96%, higher than most NYC elementary schools, including those with similar economic need. Average class size is 28.9, larger than most elementary schools in the district and citywide. 2025 Math proficiency is 97%, higher than most NYC elementary schools, including those with similar economic need.
| Year | Subject | Proficient | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | ELA | 96% | 341 |
| 2025 | Math | 97% | 342 |
| 2024 | ELA | 91% | 310 |
| 2024 | Math | 89% | 311 |
| 2023 | ELA | 89% | 305 |
| 2023 | Math | 88% | 301 |
| 2022 | ELA | 84% | 321 |
| 2022 | Math | 79% | 316 |
| 2019 | ELA | 77% | 368 |
| 2019 | Math | 76% | 365 |
| 2018 | ELA | 78% | 387 |
| 2018 | Math | 74% | 391 |
Proficiency means Level 3 or above.
Admissions for NYC public schools go through MySchools.
NYC DOE · 2024–25
| Measure | P.S. 011 Purvis J. Behan | P.S. 056 Lewis H. Latimer |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 ELA proficient | 96% (+6 pp vs 2024) | 60% (-2 pp vs 2024) |
| 2025 Math proficient | 97% (+8 pp vs 2024) | 56% (+2 pp vs 2024) |
| Average K–5 class size (2025–26) | 28.9 | 16.6 |
| Enrollment (2024–25) | 922 | 253 |
| Student–teacher ratio (2025–26) | 17.6 | 10.2 |
| Family satisfaction | 96% | 92% |
| Principal trust | 96% | 97% |
| Teacher trust | 97% | 97% |
| Leadership | 98% | 95% |
| Distance between schools | 0.29 mi | |
P.S. 011 Purvis J. Behan has higher Math proficiency than P.S. 056 Lewis H. Latimer (97% vs 56%) and higher ELA proficiency (96% vs 60%).
| School | ELA | Math | Class size | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| P.S. 056 Lewis H. Latimer | 60% | 56% | 16.6 | 0.3 mi |
| The Urban Assembly Unison School | 40% | 21% | Not reported by DOE (privacy) | 0.3 mi |
| P.S. 270 Johann DeKalb | 29% | 15% | 12.8 | 0.4 mi |
| Ms 113 The Ronald Edmonds Learning Center | 31% | 27% | Not reported by DOE (privacy) | 0.4 mi |
| Bridges: A School for Exploration and Equity | 73% | 74% | Not reported by DOE (privacy) | 0.5 mi |
| Public School 9 The Sarah Smith Garnet School | 71% | 57% | 20.8 | 0.5 mi |
| Ps 20 The Clinton Hill School | 77% | 69% | 21.4 | 0.5 mi |
| P.S. 003 The Bedford Village | 52% | 42% | 23.3 | 0.6 mi |
Source: NYC DOE / NYSED, 2025
pre-K, K–6
Admissions for NYC public schools go through MySchools.
96%
97%
28.9 students in K–5 (2025–26).